Show me the Money!

16 Jan

Hi, my name is Alison and I’m addicted to winning free stuff on-line for my wedding.  There, I said it.  Now I can seriously face my addiction. 

I’ve always loved winning contests or getting free stuff, but now I’ve become obsessed with it.  I’ve entered contests for The Proposal Story and Lucky in Love Engagement, and I have multiple drawings entered through On-line Sweepstakes.

I check the contest websites and my e-mail each day (or multiple times a day but, really, who’s counting?) to see if the sponsors have picked a winner, even though I well know the winner isn’t going to be announced until a month from now. 

The Proposal Story is the one competition that has been a roller coaster ride for me for the past few days.  On the first day that I posted my proposal story, I e-mailed my closest relatives to read the story and rate it on a scale of 1 to 5 diamonds (it’s like stars but, I believe, the website uses diamonds because the sponsor is Tiffany’s).  

I went on the contest website later that evening and I saw that my story was in the top 5 on their webpage.  I got so excited and clicked on my profile to see how many diamonds my story was rated.  I had 2 ratings of 3 diamonds.  That was out of 5 diamonds.  I could not believe my eyes.  Why would someone rate my story 3 out of 5 when I specifically asked them to vote because I wanted to win the competition?  That was beyond my comprehension, but Kevin and I got a good laugh out of the irony of it.  I didn’t really mind, considering I was still in the top 5. 

Then, I decided to promote my story on Facebook and explain to people in a nice way to give it a good rating if they vote.  This was my request to my Facebook friends:

“I entered a contest to win free stuff for the wedding (who doesn’t like free stuff, right?). Click on the link, read the proposal story, and if you like it then use the diamonds above the story to rate it (preferably a 5 please…wink wink). Thanks everyone!!!”

My family and friends were extremely supportive and voted (higher ratings) and even told their friends on Facebook to vote on my story.  I received a great response and remained in the top 5 on The Proposal Story website. 

As I said earlier, I’ve been checking the websites daily.  So, I went on The Proposal Story’s website this morning and, believe it or not, there was a new story in the top 5 titled “Alison and Kevin’s very funny proposal story.” 

My reaction – “Oh shoot!”  Well, that’s actually the censored version.  But, what are the chances that someone else spells their name like mine, with one “l”, and is getting engaged to a guy named Kevin?!  Obviously people got the stories mixed up and voted on the wrong one, right?  Well, that’s what I’d like to believe, so just roll with me here.

Regardless, I’m still excited about the contest because I’m in the top 5 of the stories posted on their homepage and the first story listed on their top 20 page.  But, it’s nerve-racking.  Thankfully, there are several different components that the judges look at when deciding who wins the competition.  As the website rules say, “Judging is based on the following criteria: quality of the writing style, creativity of the story, and ranking level achieved (judged by the community), with equal weight given to each criterion.”  

Even if people don’t give me good ratings or confuse my story for someone else’s, I still have somewhat of a chance to win $1,000 to Tiffany’s.  Keep your fingers crossed on my winnings…I know my parents are!

Leave a Reply

