I present to you the bridal party…

24 Jan

I’m the youngest of three girls: my oldest sister, Jess, and I are only four years apart; and there is only a 17 month difference in age with me and my middle sister, Liz. Despite Jess being a little bit older than Liz and I, we were all very close growing up. The three of us are very different and unique in our own ways, but I’d have to say that the two of them are the closest friends I’ve had my entire life. We’ve all witnessed each other’s good and bad moments for 25 years now, so naturally I’d want the two of them to stand next to me as bridesmaids on my special day.



I didn’t do anything special when I asked them to be my bridesmaids like I probably should have, but I made sure I asked them in person. We were all in Jess’s kitchen hanging out for Liz’s birthday and everyone was getting ready to leave. I clumsily blurted out, “Well before you guys go, I was wondering if you two will be my bridesmaids.”  The fear of rejection lingering overhead was unsettling and it made me very nervous, even in front of my own family.  Thankfully, my two sisters quickly said “Of course” and gave me big hugs. I told them that my maid of honor would be my best friend and closest thing to having another sister, Julia. I explained to them, just as I did to Julia, why I made this the final decision instead of having one of my sisters as the maid, or matron, of honor.


Julia and I went out to lunch at California Pizza Kitchen and then went to IKEA one Sunday afternoon.  It was a girl’s heaven – eating, shopping, and girl-talk. Julia was about to drop me off at my apartment when I asked her to be my maid of honor.  I believe she was in shock because she said, “Oh my God, yes, but…are you sure?”  

I said “Of course I’m sure.” Then I asked her, “Are you really that surprised? I figured you were expecting this.”
She said, “Well yeah, but not maid of honor. I figured you would have wanted one of your sisters to do that.”
I said, “I think it would have been too much for Liz and Jess would have been too much for me. Plus you’re the closest friend I have and I’ve always considered you as one of my sisters.”
She was excited and said, “I’m going to have to look up what to do as maid of honor because I have no idea what to do.”
I said, “Julia, I have no idea what I’m doing, so I’ll help you along the way too.”

When I searched “maid of honor duties” in Google over 70,000 results popped up in less than 25 seconds. So, here’s a good start, Julia: http://www.themaidofhonorguide.com/.

I found a blog that said your maid of honor is the second most important person to you in the wedding next to your groom, of course. Although I didn’t folllow the 5 steps in this blog on how to ask Julia to be my maid of honor (and she’s probably happy that I didn’t), it was a no-brainer to ask her to be my second in command. Can’t you tell by these pictures?





I know that Julia, along with my sisters Jess and Liz, will always be by my side regardless of it being my wedding or not.  And the feeling is reciprocal – I’ll always be there for them too.  Now that I have my bridal party, the planning fun begins.  I cannot wait to celebrate with the three of them alongside me.
Leave a Reply

