Breaking Up is Hard To Do

28 Mar

As the Carpenters once sang, breaking up is hard to do. Especially with people you barely know. With seeing close to 10 venues for the wedding and finally landing on “the one” I needed to slowly break the news to the others. I’ve never broken up with someone through e-mail until now. The “it’s not you, it’s me” line doesn’t really work as well when you can’t give a good re-assuring tap of “it’s all going to work out for the best” on the side of their arm. At least with e-mail you can be non-confrontational, whereas the phone break up has such long awkward pauses and constant rambling about nothingness on my part.

My one and only time I had to break up over the phone for the wedding was when I answered the phone to an unknown number thinking it was someone else calling about the wedding. I wasn’t prepared for the let down and it showed. I flattered the person to death and then said I’d keep them in mind if anything changed. It was so disheartening. I went home that night and sadly told Kevin of my awful conversation. The positive outlook on that situation was both parties had closure and it didn’t leave anyone in the unknown of why it didn’t quite work out.

This leads me to my least favorite method where you never contact them to say that you found someone else to have your wedding. You ignore their pleading phone calls and persistent e-mails because it just hurts too much to explain that the end has come to the relationship.

All in all, the hardships were all worth it because of the unimaginable place we found to have the wedding. Ivy Hall in Historic Roswell fits Kevin and I like a glove with its incredible scenery, beautiful decor, and overall atmosphere. I don’t want to give too much away because I don’t want to ruin the element of surprise for the guests, but as soon as we visited Ivy Hall it was truly love at first sight.

Leave a Reply

