Breakfast Smoothie

3 Jun

It was 80 degrees at 8 AM today in Atlanta.  It was so hot that I broke a sweat without even moving, and it’s only going to get worse as the Summer goes on.  When the weather gets this unbearable, I set aside my Kashi Golden Brown Maple Oatmeal (which is the best kind for vegetarians because it’s fortified with B vitamins) and reach for the blender to mix up a nice little chilled morning cocktail (virgin, unless it’s the weekend!).

Thanks to my dad, I have a Bella Blender, which is a much easier way to make a smoothie than lugging out the old clunky blender every morning.  I’ve listed below 3 easy steps to make my Summertime concoction.  Feel free to mix up the type of fruit (except the banana) or juice.  If you want a thicker smoothie, use more yogurt.  Let me know your different variations (only if they turn out good though)! Enjoy!

Step 1

First you take half a banana and break it apart in small pieces and place in the blender.  Then add about a cup of frozen mixed fruit (I use Private Selection Fruit Blend for Smoothies), or until the fruit reaches the “max” line if using a blender like Bella.  Make sure you use frozen fruit, otherwise it won’t have the same consistency (trust me, I’ve tried).  If you’d rather use fresh fruit, then add an ice-cube.

Step 2

Add 1/4 cup orange juice, 1 cup vanilla soy milk, or until it is right under the “max” line, and 3 Tbsp vanilla soy yogurt.  Tip: if you don’t use vanilla flavored soy milk, then I suggest adding a teaspoon of honey to sweeten it up.

Step 3

Close the lid and blend until smooth.

Vege-meter: 10

Leave a Reply

