And we’re running just as fast as we can…

6 Feb

I started training for the Georgia Publix Half Marathon a few months ago through the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team In Training program.  Seeing as this is my first half marathon, it has been beneficial in so many ways to train with Team In Training (TNT).  Among the many wonderful things TNT has to offer, they partner you with coaches and mentors, as well as provide clinics with guest speakers.  On clinic days, experts come in before the group training sessions and talk about different topics, such as proper running gear (shoes being a big component of that talk), injuries and nutrition.

Before training started, the longest distance I had ever run was 4 miles – well, 6 miles if you count that one time in high school, which was 10 years ago.  I’ve now run my longest distance two weekends ago, which was 10 miles.  With never running this kind of mileage, I didn’t know what vegetarians were supposed to eat.  As you can imagine, I was excited about the nutritionist coming in to talk about diet and meal plans. I was constantly hungry when I started training, and I needed advice on how to get good fuel for long runs. She had hand-outs of a typical weekly meal plan and almost every meal had meat in it.  I asked the question ‘What do you suggest vegetarians eat in place of meat to get the proper nutrients.’  She asked me what I eat now to get my protein.  I told her tofu, tempeh, chick peas, beans and spinach.  She agreed that these were good substitutes, but didn’t offer much more advice than that.  I’d have to say I was slightly disappointed and after that I decided that I’m going to write about my training experience and diet to help other vegetarian runners or athletes.

I’m preparing to run 12 miles this next weekend.  I’ve also raised $2,000 for LLS and I’m hoping to secure more gifts before race day.  I’ll be sure to keep everyone posted on my diet and training for the half marathon.  Feel free to offer your feedback if you have a good diet in place that’s working for you, too.

Leave a Reply

