Running for a Cure and Eating Like There’s No Tomorrow

21 Mar

I don’t know if my cheeks or legs hurt more. I ran a half marathon this past weekend with Team in Training for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, and I smiled from the start to the finish line. Here’s a picture to prove it – this is me and my mentor running together at mile 12, still smiling!

How could I not smile when I had supporters like these guys cheering for me on the sidelines?

Notice Kevin’s shirt in the picture above?  It says “I support those who do 13.1 for others.” He got so many remarks about his shirt – people loved it! And here’s another one of Kevin and my dad with their sign at the race.

It was truly an unforgettable experience. I was so happy to have raised $2,590 for such a great cause, as well as train to participate in my first half marathon (and to finish in a decent time too – 2:36!). Thanks to my donors, I was one of the top ten fund-raisers of the event!

I ran in memory of my Aunt Toni and my friend Emily Morrill. I wish they could have seen all that purple supporting LLS.

You’re probably wondering what this has to do with a food blog. Well, I’m getting there. Just one more picture of me and my friend with our medals.

Later on in the day, after I rested and ate a bunch of food, my friend and I met up at Wrecking Bar Brewpub for a celebratory beer and some more food. I felt like I was eating for 2 that day! Wrecking Bar was offering $5 off for runners because we couldn’t partake in the St. Patty’s Day festivities the night before. We, of course, took advantage of this offer. Plus, Kevin and I have frequented this restaurant in the last few months because we love it so much.

We got their Spinach and Artichoke Dip to start, and as a main course I got the Pearl Barley Risotto and Kevin got the Seitan Veggie Gyro with their Brussels and Butternut Hash. My friend got the Wild Mushroom Flatbread and one of their salads. Why didn’t I take pictures of this awesome food?! Probably because I was too busy devouring it…

It’s honestly some of the best food I’ve ever had in Atlanta. Not to mention, their beers are outstanding and brewed right there at Wrecking Bar. They change up the beer selection every so often, which makes it new and exciting each time we visit. The brews were exactly what we needed to quench our thirst after running 13.1 miles!

One Response to “Running for a Cure and Eating Like There’s No Tomorrow”

  1. Joan March 21, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    I am drooling just listening to the menu. Can’t wait to go myself.

Leave a Reply

