Food for Thought

17 Sep

Over the past several years many people have shared their stories with me on how they used to be vegetarian, and my first question is always, “Why did you stop?” There is usually an array of answers, but a lot of it boils down to not getting enough vitamins, nutrients or, my personal favorite, protein.

I’ll never forget when my husband and I went to dinner at an all-vegetarian restaurant and our waitress was telling us how she used to be vegetarian. She said she decided to eat meat again because her doctor told her she needed it to get back into shape. I thought to myself, “That can’t be right.”  And then I just dismissed it, knowing that unfortunately not all doctors know what they’re talking about when it comes to diet.

I thought back on this moment when I read this article. This ultra-runner talks about his journey of being vegan and winning 100-mile races. Wow – just wow – on so many levels. He runs 100-mile races? He wins these races? And he’s vegan? That’s insane, right? But the guy obviously knows what he’s talking about considering he’s such an amazing athlete! I thoroughly enjoyed reading his story and wanted to share it so others could read it.

So, as I train for my second half-marathon, I will definitely keep this inspirational runner at the forefront of my mind when deciding what to eat.

Leave a Reply

