First Day of Fall: Pumpkin Bread Recipe

22 Sep

Pumpkin Bread

Fall has finally arrived, and it actually feels like it in Atlanta for once! I love this time of year for so many reasons – the crispness in the air, the outdoor activities like hiking or apple picking, and the food – specifically pumpkin bread.

I’ve been making my mom’s pumpkin bread since I was a little girl. I remember my mom and I would bake this treat together during the holidays, and then she would send me off to the neighbors’ houses to deliver it.

I started making it year-round now for special occasions or “just cause.” The joy it brings to so many people is undeniable. Their whole face lights up, and there’s nothing more enjoyable than making people smile while filling their bellies with good food. For those of you I don’t know, I’m sharing the recipe with you so you can make it for yourself and others. But if I know you, just ask and you shall receive!

Pumpkin Bread Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 1/3 cups Bisquick
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins (sometimes I use more)
Directions:
  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease bottom of 9×5 loaf pan with baking spray.
  3. Stir all ingredients in large bowl.
  4. Bake until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean, 45 to 55 minutes.
  5. Cool 5 minutes and serve.
2 Responses to “First Day of Fall: Pumpkin Bread Recipe”

  1. Kathryn McCullough October 8, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Looks yummy, Alison. Happy fall to you–and thanks for stopping by my blog this morning and following! Hope you have a great day.
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Alison Mercer October 8, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Thank you, Kathy! I look forward to reading more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

