Unforgettable Saturday Night: Alabama Shakes

2 Oct

Last Saturday started off as such an ordinary night. My husband and I went out to dinner and ate at one of our favorite Atlanta restaurants, La Fonda. We got the usual – fish tacos for my hubby and veggie tacos for me. Then we were off to the Masquerade to see Alabama Shakes, thanks to my best friend who offered us the tickets. Little did I know that I was going to end up on stage the whole night. Yes, on stage, next to the band.

See, my friend who got us backstage has been in the music industry since college. She has stories that start off like “This one time when we were touring with Sugarland…” So, naturally she’s a pro at acting cool with being on stage with the band, meeting the band, answering their requests, etc., etc. As she so eloquently puts it, this is not her first rodeo.  I, on the other hand, was geeking out. I was star struck, asking questions like, “Oh, so this is what an encore looks like behind the scenes?” It was absolutely, undeniably an amazing and unforgettable experience that will go down in the books for me.

I got to see what the crowd looks like from the entertainer’s point of view. What an intimidating sight – more than 4,000 people staring at you, expecting you to sing your heart out and perform for them.

The picture above shows a shot of the crowd, where I usually stand at concerts. And here’s a picture of Alabama Shakes from where I was standing on Saturday night.

I also got some footage of their most popular song, Hold On. It’s a little shaky on the camera-work, but you can get a feel for how soulful her voice is and how awesome they are live.

Leave a Reply

