Confessions of a Runner

7 Oct

There is something I need to get off my chest today, so I’m stepping into the confessional. I’ve become a runner nerd.

What exactly is a runner nerd?, you might ask. To me, a runner nerd is one who absolutely loves the purity of running by itself. No headphones. No conversation. Just your feet hitting the pavement. I used to be like the girl in the picture above. I would sometimes cancel my run if I didn’t have my music. My, how things have changed over the past year! Music isn’t my crutch when I’m running anymore. I don’t have to have it when I’m running by myself. I think Team in Training helped me realize that I don’t need anything in my ears to get through 3 miles, 8 miles, or even 13.1 miles. I’ve gone on 6 mile runs before without a running buddy or music – not because I left my iPod at home or because it died on me, but because I wanted to. I’ll actually never forget when I signed up for my first half marathon through Team in Training – almost a year ago – and they told me it was highly discouraged to wear headphones while running with the team. I almost didn’t sign up because of that. That’s how hooked I was! I’m so glad I gave it a try because running for Team was one of the best experiences of my life.

I also have to confess something else. Last week, NPR was blaring out of my headphones on my run instead of the usual hip hop playlist from Rock My Run. While I was listening about the attacks on the US consulate, the Catholic bishop’s views on same-sex marriage, and the success of the Angry Birds’ song, I hit an all-time record on my Nike Plus watch. I ran my fastest mile, which isn’t fast compared to most people, but for me it was fantastic. Whether it was the slanderous talk about same-sex marriage that got me going or the constant depressing news about the war, I felt enraged and ran faster. I never thought I would be the type of runner that would listen to NPR – or nothing at all. I’ve told other runners who live by their music that they can run without it. Not too long ago, someone was running with me and she was absolutely shocked that she ran 4 miles without music. See, it can be done! If you’ve never done it, try it out – I promise it’s an incredible experience!

2 Responses to “Confessions of a Runner”

  1. boomiebol October 9, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    I need my music men lol…I run long miles alone so I need a little company lol. Need to learn to run without music though…will work on it.

    • Alison Mercer October 9, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      I can’t do it all the time without music. But try it once and I promise a completely different experience!

Leave a Reply

