Trick-or-Treating, Runner Style

1 Nov

The last time I went trick-or-treating was when I was in middle school, which was about 15 years ago (ugh, I feel old saying that!). I also haven’t handed out candy in about 10 years because of living in apartment complexes, and now living on a busy road. I feel nostalgic of the days that I used to dress up and go door-to-door, or see the little kids in the neighborhood come to our door in their best spooky or funny costumes. Last night on Halloween, I went on a great run after work. My Halloween run let me experience the decorated houses and celebration of this great American holiday. I saw people outside their houses putting up last-minute ghosts, graveyards and spiderwebs. Here’s a house that caught my eye, although I think I would have been too terrified to go up to this one as a kid.

Spooky, Decorated House on my Halloween Run

On this run, I also came across this old train track. It’s so picturesque, yet eerily desolate.

Railroad Crossing on my Halloween Run

My Halloween run was way more fun-spirited than my run on Sunday. It was freezing out on Sunday, even though I went midday. On top of the cold, no one was out on the road so it was deserted and everyone had their house decorated in a really creepy way. I don’t know what was scarier – the house with the big clown head dangling from it or all of the Mitt Romney signs. That will be my one political comment for the year. There was one house that had a fake person dressed as Jason laying against a haystack…or I think it wasn’t real, but I actually had to look back a couple of times to make sure it wasn’t moving! Not to mention, a black cat crossed my path at the end of this run. I’m usually not superstitious  but after all of these things adding up, the cat was a super bad omen. So, I was relieved when my solitary run on Halloween was enjoyable and child-like, opposed to it being like I was trapped in a horror movie.

When I finished my run, I went into the gym to stretch and the news-coverage of Superstorm Sandy was on the TV. I just want to say that my heart goes out to all of the victims of this crazy storm. The majority of my family lives in New York, and my poor cousin has had to work 16-hour shifts as an emergency worker at the electric company. She actually took the phone call of the guy who had the trampoline stuck in the wires, which is the picture that has now gone viral.

Trampoline Stuck in Wires from Superstorm Sandy

Luckily, most of my family kept power and no one was harmed, however the same can’t be said of strangers. I’ve been keeping these families in my thoughts, hoping for good things to come their way soon.

So, back to Halloween night. Since I don’t get trick-or-treaters and I don’t have kids, I dressed up my cat and dog (as seen in a previous post).

Punk rock Dali and Ali

Kitty Punk Rocker

Which I felt like was borderline animal cruelty until I saw this website of other people dressing up their pets in full costumes – one looks like they even spray-painted their animal?!

All-in-all, it was a great Halloween that turned out to be pretty healthy with my great run…AND I didn’t even eat any candy corn, which is surprising, right?

What did everyone do to celebrate Halloween this year?

3 Responses to “Trick-or-Treating, Runner Style”

  1. boomiebol November 1, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I didn’t do anything lol. Took my dad to the airport and then hung out with my twin girls until hubs came home :). There’s a house in my neighborhood that was so decked out We had to take the girls by it every day because they were so fascinated and kept saying spooky lol

    • Prosey Rosey November 2, 2012 at 7:53 am #

      I’d love to see a picture of that house! Even though I don’t decorate much, I love when other people get really into it! That’s so sweet that you have twin girls – you didn’t force them into an outfit? 🙂

      • boomiebol November 2, 2012 at 8:17 am #

        Haha…nah! Although they dressed up to church on Sunday. One was a sunflower, and her sister a butterfly. Considering, they wouldn’t take the costumes off after church, I wasn’t ready to do it again lol

Leave a Reply

