HOPE for My Future in 20 Years

3 Nov

The Daily Prompt from yesterday had a second portion to it – write a letter to yourself in 20 years. Here it goes…

Dear pushing-50 Ali:

There are things that I hope for the future, like seeing a female president in my lifetime or that there is more peace than war. But those are general wishes for a better world around me. They are things that I can’t entirely control. There are some things that I can keep in my reach and scope, which is why I’m writing this letter to the future me. I’ve outlined below some things that I hope for us 20 years from now:

I HOPE that the future me:

Has kept an awesome 401K so you are still on track to retire at a decent age. You and your husband are the type of people who can fill a day without getting bored. Remember the Snowpocalypse in 2011? Where everyone was getting bored being cooped up in their houses for a week straight, but you and Kevin were living it up? That’s probably what retirement is like and we need that.

Opted to start a family. Twenty-something Ali is not entirely thinking about this now, but one day you’re going to want children of your own that you can take care of and love.

Practiced more philanthropy, whether it’s volunteering or donating more money. You always say you’re going to feed the homeless on Thanksgiving Day or that you’re going to clean the trails in the park on the first Saturday of the month – but you never do. Twenty years is a long time to keep making false promises, so let’s stop talking the talk and start walking the walk, lady.

Eventually did more stuff on your bucket list. Hopefully, you have taken that photography class, have traveled to Europe and back to Australia, have helped Kevin play at more open mic nights because he’s an amazing musician, or have written your own cookbook with your own recipes (even if it’s crappy…I mean if Teresa from Real Housewives of NJ can do it, so can you. You’re probably trying to remember who that is, which drives home my point even further.).

I feel like those goals are attainable, so let’s look back at this letter every year and make sure things are getting done around here.

Also, one more thing, I hope your parents’ genes come into play, because when they were 50, they looked like they were 40. Hopefully you look that fabulous and are that fabulous!

Love,

You from 2012

Leave a Reply

